Author Topic: What happened to Jr. B hockey in Atlantic District?  (Read 6445 times)

Description:

Didn't the Jr. Devils go to Nationals bunch of times 1990-95, then Apple Core became dominant?  All the best high school players were playing Jr. B, why did the MET league just disappear?  Now if you are good 17 yr old, you play for Midgets for Avs, Jr. Flyers, etc.
dislike
angry1
friendly
love
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Reply #1:
 August 17, 2020, 09:44:09 AM
The Met is technically still around. It is now called the EHL. It went through some restructuring and renaming a few years ago. The EHL has the regular division which is Tier 3 and the lower Premier division which is Jr B. I have no experience with Jr B, but from what hear, it is pretty bad these days. Obviously, the regular EHL division is better, 16/18AAA is better and I would say there are some 18AA teams that are better.
Here's how bad it can be. A friend of mine's kid was cut from a middle of the road 18aa team last season, but was able to make a Jr B team.
Also, Jr Flyers and Philly Revolution both stopped their Junior programs at the end of last season so their are fewer options in the area, which might be a good thing. Could make it less watered down.

dislike
angry1
friendly
love
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Reply #2:
 August 17, 2020, 10:04:46 AM
Those Jr Devs teams under Plunkett were very good, he was a legend
dislike
angry1
friendly
love
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Reply #3:
 August 17, 2020, 10:47:56 AM