Author Topic: What do coaches look for?  (Read 9231 times)

Description:

What do coaches look for?
Topic: August 01, 2018, 09:36:08 AM
Hi,

I've chosen to remain anonymous because there are some who I know visit this site and I don't know how they'll react after reading. This isn't meant to be disparaging by any means but because of today's differing opinions some might find it to be. I wasn't an English major in college so please excuse any grammatical errors.

Our youth hockey organization recently had our annual summer club meeting to discuss planning and player/parent rules for the 2018 season. The usual questions were raised as well as the normal instruction regarding inclusion across all teams rosters. For the coaches and managers we all know this is nothing new, the same directive, "everybody plays, nobody's different no matter what his or her skill set may or may not be".

Is this true though?

I've been coaching in different capacities for over 20 years at various levels pee wee to collegiate, and over those years everywhere I've coached, played or stood by and watched my own children as a fan, inclusion has always been the number one topic of discussion. To me, I can't understand why this always creates such heated debate. There are actually coaches at mite through bantam levels who contest how their roster will be played based on who they consider their better players. Keep in mind most of the coaches are dads of players at these levels. Such excuses as Johnny doesn't know how to play, or Jane can't skate with these boys are some of the standard responses. Unfortunately organizations under Tier 1 don't have the luxury of having non parent coaches so for the most part the dads don't seem to get it, it's all about learning not blowing away the competition at every opportunity. I started as the "dad" coach and that is primarily where we start before moving into the role as basically a second job after our kids have finished playing and are grown up. I can't