Author Topic: Question for Goalie Parents  (Read 3225 times)

Description:

Question for Goalie Parents
Topic: March 26, 2023, 11:22:34 AM
My kid used to play goalie several years ago. what i have seen (and heard) lately, is that rinks everywhere need goalies.

I see so many teams, even at lower levels with two goalies. if goalies are so hard to find, why arent parents doing more to jump around to find a team where they can have their own net? sure a team could be better, but for parents (low A and even B), do you think sitting half the time is best for your kids development? and im shocked rinks will charge both goalies full price.
dislike
angry1
friendly
love
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Reply #1:
 March 30, 2023, 08:49:13 AM
More than likely teams are posting about needing goalies because they want a second or upgrade what they had show up. I've been a team manager for 12yrs and have seen it happen multiple times.  In the past 3yrs we had both those situations happen at our club. After evals the club posted they were looking for a goalie and held a special eval for it. One showed up and bumped the one goalie off the bottom team. The yr before that same goalie that got bumped was put on my kids team with his parents agreement that he'd start 1 out of 5 games and a 30% discount just to have a second goalie. Out of all the league, non league and tournament games he played just over 8 games out of 38. The other goalie carried us to being 1 spot out of the playoffs, 1 tournament champ and 1 tournament runner up. If my kid and the other skaters would have scored more than the 2.7 goals per game average we had we would have finished in 2nd or 3rd in the league. Our #1 goalie had a GAA of 3.2 and a save % around .900. The other goalie had a GAA of 7.4 and a save % around .700.
dislike
angry1
friendly
love
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Reply #2:
 April 03, 2023, 10:35:05 AM