2020 Suburban High School Hockey League

Lowest price
cutting edge photo editing
and design!

NJ Youth Hockey Forum

Council Rock Ice Hockey History | Media & Archives

Council Rock Indians Ice Hockey History

Council Rock Indians Media and Archives

The Story

The Rock set out on its 1991-92 campaign with one goal, to replicate what its 1990-91 predecessor accomplished, to win the Flyers Cup and Pennsylvania State Titles. With a solid group of players assembled, this CR squad took on all comers and put all down on their way to an undefeated 14-0-2 regular season record which earned them the division title. The Rock would fall in the SHSHL championship series to the William Tennent Panthers 2 games to 1, in what most would consider one of the most exciting and entertaining SHSHL league championships of all time. However, the loss would not deter the Indians squad. Council Rock was given another opportunity to play for the Flyers Cup at the AA level. The Indians would go on to beat the Father Judge Crusaders in the Flyers Cup AA Semi-Finals giving them the opportunity to take on the Malvern Prep Friars for the Flyers Cup AA Title. The rest is history, CR would go on to win the Flyers Cup AA series and Pennsylvania State High School Hockey AA Championship.

The Road To The 1992 FLYERS CUP - AA

SHSHL Council Rock 8 vs LBCSHL Father Judge 5
ICSHL Malvern Prep 5 ICSHL LaSalle 0
SHSHL Council Rock 10 vs ICSHL Malvern Prep 6
SHSHL Council Rock 4 ICSHL Malvern Prep 9
SHSHL Council Rock 9 vs ICSHL Malvern Prep 1
EAST Council Rock 4 vs WEST Johnstown 0 - View Full Game
The Roster

Coach: Paul Gilligan

Assistant Manager: John Rankel

Assistant Manager: Craig Dal Farra

Manager: Bob Metzgar "Metz"

Dan Smith #1 - Goalie

Mike Raditz #2 - Defense

Justin Kurzac #3 - Forward

Eric Snider #4 - Defense

Rich Schwab #5 - Defense *Captain

Eric Kratchwell #7 - Defense

Jeff Ryan #9 - Forward

Jason Rayher #10 - Forward

Ron Reilly #14 - Defense

Bob Williams #15 - Forward *Captain

Matt Hunter #16 - Forward *Captain

Tommy Howard #18 - Forward

Corey McGinty - Forward

Jared Lyons #20 - Forward

Scott Wackowski #21 - Forward

Brian Green #22 - Forward

Bob Burke #23 - Forward

Ross Porubski #24 - Forward

Kevin Deitch #27 - Forward

Scott Prosek #30 - Goalie

1992 Council Rock Indians

Top left to right: John Rankel, Mike Kobel, Kevin Deitch, Scott Wackowski, Jared Lyons, Ross Porubski, Joe Appel, Erik Kratchwell, Bob Burke, Mike Raditz, Ron Reilly, Tom Howard, Corey McGinty, Craig Dal Farra
Bottom left to right: Dan Smith, Wayne DePrince, Jason Rayher, Brian Green, Bob Williams, Matt Hunter, Rich Schwab, Justin Kurzac, Jeff Ryan, Scott Prosek

Game 1 SHSHL Finals: William Tennent Panthers vs Council Rock Indians

Pennsylvania State Championship Win


Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!RedditDigg this story!Del.icio.usStumbleUpon